The first year of school is a very important stage as it helps your child establish the building blocks of their education. Our youngest children follow the Early Early Foundation Curriculum which breaks down early development into 7 broad areas. Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

Within these areas of learning, children are expected to reach their 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs) by the end of the Reception year. Details of all the ELGs are in the document below. 

Within the first term, we invite parents to a series of workshops at which we explain our approach to teaching Phonics and early Reading, early Maths and writing. Details will be sent to you via Teachers2Parents.

Our full Long Term Plan for the Reception Year can be accessed below along with our EYFS Intent Statement.

 Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum Statement.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1